Vogue 1059

contest 052 

I completed the 2nd pair of pants over the Labor Day weekend.  This is Vogue 1059, another alice+olivia pattern (I love all of their patterns).

I used this wonderful plaid wool flannel I bought last year from Gail K’s.  The greatest thing about this fabric is that it has some slight stretch.  These are typical a+o pants with a wide waistband; they also have very wide legs:

contest 029   contest 056

These are so comfortable!  I cut out a size 14, which ended up way too big.  I took in each side seam by almost one inch.  I left the crotch curve at a 14.  I really like how these fit! *hmmm, I might try doing this with other pants…I’ll cut a size 14 crotch and a size 10 hip-side seam…..maybe* 

The pattern itself is interesting.  One view has a back zipper, so if you shy away from fly fronts, you can still make these.  There is also an option for side front pockets.  I made mine with back welt pockets and a zip fly:

contest 023 

 contest 024

I really love patterns that include instructions on clean-finishing the fly shield.  I usually forget to do this unless I have a reminder.

contest 026 I’ve gotten pretty good at making a nice looking zipper fly; the welt pockets, not so much.  I was able to press out most of the puckers, and you don’t notice it when worn (okay, yeah, you  do):

contest 033 

I’ll keep the pockets basted closed until the first wearing.

contest 025

Other than my crappy welt pockets, these pants are pretty straight-forward.  To cut down on bulk, I stitched the bottom of the belt carriers to the outside of the pants waistband.  The tops were included in the top seam.  Also, I lined the waistband facing with china silk rather than self fabric.  The instructions didn’t include lining the pants, but since these are wool, I lined mine.

contest 028  contest 032 contest 030

I really like these, mistakes and all.  With the different waistband/pocket options, this is a pretty versatile pattern.

    • Shannon
    • September 17th, 2009

    I love these pants – they are perfect for you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

Lányos Handmade

The Shop, The Blog and More!

Pintangle

For your stitching adventures!

Tany et La Mode

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

THORNBERRY

Things I make and holidays we take

Red Point Tailor

Couture Endeavours

yoshimi the flying squirrel

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

SewEllen

Make time to sew, Dahling!!!

Pretty Grievances

When I'm not complaining, I sew....

Catherine Daze's Blog

sewing my own clothes